The picturesque picnic reserve is by the banks of the Delatite River and is perfect for picnicing and enjoying the outdoors. It is also the start of the Plain Creek Loop walking track and camping facilities are located in the adjacent camping area.
Camping areas are on a first-come, first-served basis. No bookings are required. Toilets are provided at the campsite for your convenience. Dogs are allowed within the reserve but must be under control at all times and are expected to be leashed or restrained.
Activities including fly fishing, bushwalking, picnicking, horseriding and trailbike riding are all popular in this area of State Forest.
Popular walks include Plain Creek Loop Walk, Tramway Bridge Walk, Plain Creek Waterfall and Tomahawk Hut.
Carter and Co. built a sawmill at this site in 1937 to mill the timber from the surrounding forest. In the early days timber was brought down to the mill from the forest by a single line five horse team along timber tramways. After the 1950s these were replaced by motor vehicles on bush tracks. Carter’s Mill was destroyed by fire in January 1965.